AUSTIN, Texas (Legal Newsline) - The three Texas Supreme Court justices up for re-election who faced competition from members of their own Republican party were victorious Tuesday.

Emerging victorious from the Republican primary were Chief Justice Nathan Hecht, who squared off against Robert Talton, a former state representative; Justice Phil Johnson, who beat appellate Justice Sharon McCally; and Justice Jeff Brown, who won out against Joe Pool.

According to the office of the Texas Secretary of State, Hecht captured 58.86 percent of the vote, making his contest the closest.

Brown beat Pool by a much larger margin, landing 820,558 votes for 71.91 percent.

Johnson netted 731,247 votes to McCally's 410,843.

Justice Jeff Boyd, who ran uncontested, hauled in 998,124 votes.

As previously reported, the Republican candidates challenging the incumbents received the bulk of their donations from plaintiffs attorney Mark Lanier and attorneys with connections to his firm, the Lanier Law Firm in Houston.

From Legal Newsline: Reach David Yates at

More News