Iowa County Circuit Court judge selected as Wis. 'chief of chiefs'

By Jessica M. Karmasek | Aug 21, 2012


MADISON, Wis. (Legal Newsline) - Wisconsin's Committee of Chief Judges has chosen an Iowa County Circuit Court judge as its "chief of chiefs."

The state Supreme Court, in a news release Monday, announced the committee elected Chief Judge William D. Dyke.

As the "chief of chiefs," Dyke serves as chair of the group of 10 chief judges, each of whom is selected by the state's high court to help oversee a judicial administrative district.

Dyke is the chief judge of the Seventh Judicial District, which includes Buffalo, Crawford, Grant, Iowa, Jackson, La Crosse, Monroe, Pepin, Pierce, Richland, Trempealeau and Vernon counties.

As a circuit court judge, Dyke has overseen a variety of outreach and diversion programs.

In 2008, he recruited local attorneys with backgrounds in real estate, business and tax law to serve as volunteer mediators in foreclosure cases.

Also under his leadership, Iowa County became one of five counties in the state participating in Assess, Inform and Measure, otherwise known as AIM, to help assess the needs and risks of criminal offenders.

Dyke also created a teen court and has served as a member of the Effective Justice Strategies Subcommittee of the Supreme Court's Planning, Policy and Advisory Committee.

He was appointed to the circuit court in 1997 and subsequently reelected since 1998.

"I am honored to have been selected by my colleagues for this role," Dyke said in a statement Monday.

"The Committee of Chief Judges helps keep the Wisconsin court system running smoothly."

Working as a team with a deputy chief judge and a professional court administrator, chief judges manage the flow of cases, supervise personnel and develop budgets. They meet monthly as a committee to work on issues of statewide importance.

With the exception of Milwaukee County -- the First Judicial Administrative District -- where the chief judge is a full-time administrator, chief judges and their deputies maintain court calendars in addition to handling administrative matters.

Districts range in size from one county to 13 counties. A chief judge can serve up to three, two-year terms, which are staggered.

Dyke's term as the head of the committee began Aug. 11 and runs until a successor is named by the committee.

He succeeds Dane County Circuit Court Judge C. William Foust as chief.

According to the Court, Foust will continue to serve as a member of the committee.

From Legal Newsline: Reach Jessica Karmasek by email at

More News

The Record Network